Thursday, January 31, 2008

New N*E*R*D - "Everybody Nose"

While In Search Of... was a great album (both the analog and digital versions), Fly Or Die left a lot to be desired, and yet everyone will no doubt lose it when Pharrell & Co. drop their next album N*3*R*D, sometime soon.

To whet your appetite "Everybody Nose" is available to stream at the Billionaire Boys Club blog, and I've gotta tell you, it's nothing all that special. All the same, here it is:

Wednesday, January 30, 2008

New We Are Scientists video - "After Hours"

This new track isn't anything amazing, but fortunately, the humour in the clip saves the song from complete mediocrity. Say what you like about their music, at least the guys are funny.

Worst or Best Album Art?

Sebastien Tellier is about to drop his next album, Sexuality, and since he's responsible for one of my favourite tracks of all time ('La Ritournelle'), and since the album is going to be produced by Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo of Daft Punk, I'm keenly anticipating it's release. With excitement building, the album art has been released to the discerning public, and it's been lauded and damned at the same time. I for one, love it's shameless kitsch-value.

Sexuality is due out next month through Record Makers.

Here's the video to Mr Dan's Magic Wand Mix of La Ritournelle:

Friday, January 25, 2008

The Mars Volta Will Not Rest!

So The Mars Volta's fourth studio album, Bedlam In Goliath, is out today - and already there's new material on the horizon in the form of yet another solo album from lead guitarist Omar Rodriguez Lopez.

Entitled Calibration, its released on the 25th of February and features contributions from Chilis guitarist John Frusciante, keyboardist Money Mark and TMV partner in crime Cedric Bixler-Zavala.

This confirms the band as one of the most prolific of our time, Four studio albums, a live album, and now five solo albums - its like the 70's all over again!

Check out some clips here, and you can find tracklist details over at Line of Best Fit.

Tuesday, January 22, 2008


It's not often that a videogame will introduce you to great new music, but BioWare's meticulous sci-fi RPG Mass Effect has done just that.

The game's end credits are soundtracked by a very fitting, very unheard of Canadian band called Faunts and their excellent track M4 (Part II). Using ambient synth work and stacatto guitar it manages to evoke 80's music without sounding forcefully hip or rehashed.

Coachella 2008 Lineup Announced

And so, every year, I'm reminded that Big Day Out really isn't all that big.

Update: official poster released on Pitchfork. It's easier to read than a paragraph of text.

New Zoot Woman Track + Video "We Won't Break"

Stuart Price, Jonny Blake, Adam Blake and Beatrice Hatherley form Zoot Woman, a UK band who play the sort of dance/electronic music that is easy to listen to and sometimes seems made for advertising. They've made the track "We Won't Break" from their forthcoming album available at RCRDLBL, and the video is up on Youtube. If you're already familiar with the band then you'll know what to expect.

After hearing it, I'm looking forward to the new album; their 2003 self-titled album was on constant rotation for me when it was released. Oh, and if you think the name Stuart Price sounds familiar, he also goes by the monikers of Jacques Lu Cont, Les Rythmes Digitales, and Thin White Duke. Don't hold his Starsailor remix against him.

MP3: Zoot Woman - "We Won't Break" (via RCRDLBL)

Saturday, January 12, 2008

Justice's Rejected Fabric Mix

So the story goes that Justice were all set to release Fabriclive 37, the next in the hugely popular mix series, but the powers that be at Fabric just didn't like what the French duo came up with. "Too eclectic", they said. We thought it would be lost forever, but good news: Justice decided to give it away as a Christmas mix. You can grab it courtesy of Asian Dan.

The "eclectic" tracklist is:

01 Sparks - Tryouts For The Human Race - Virgin
02 Rondo Veneziano - La Serenissima - Universal
03 Goblin - Tenebrae - Cinevox
04 Daft Punk - Ouverture - Virgin
05 Surkin - Next Of Kin - Institubes
06 SymbolOne - Love Juice - SymbolOne
07 Korgis - Everybodys Gotta Learn Sometimes - Angel Air
08 Midnight Juggernauts - Ending Of An Era - Mindight Juggernauts
09 The Paradise Ft Romauld - In Love With You - Vulture
10 Justice - TTHHEE PPAARRTTYY (Acapella) - Ed Banger
11 Chic - Everybody Dance - Atlantic
12 Frankie Valli - Who Loves You - Warners
13 Das Pop - Underground - Das Pop
14 Julien Clerc - Quand Je Joue - EMI
15 Daniel Balavoine - Vivre Ou Survivre - Barclay
16 Richard Sanderson - Reality - Barclay
17 Zoot Woman - Grey Day - Wall Of Sound
18 Fucking Champs - Thor Is Like Immortal - Drag City
19 The Rave - Mother - The Rave
20 Fancy - You Never Know - Fancy
21 Frank Stallone - Far From Over - Universal
22 Sheila - Misery - Warners
23 Todd Rundgren - International Feel - Warners

MP3: Justice Xmas Mix

Thursday, January 03, 2008

Free Mixtape from Okkervil River

This one's been around a little while, but if you haven't heard already, head to Okkervil River's website and grab their mix-tape of covers and b-sides, 'Golden Opportunities'. If anything, it'll help you ride out the time until we start getting some new albums rollin' out for '08.

Okkervil River - Golden Opportunities Mixtape

Wednesday, January 02, 2008

Radiohead wishes you a happy new year...

Here is the webcast the band made to wish everyone a happy 2008. Enjoy!